Content Filtering

View and edit all content filtering rules for the users you are actively monitoring.

You can sort, search, edit, and delete all filtering rules.  To sort just click on the column title for ascending or descending order.  You may also sort by multiple columns by holding in the shift key on your keyboard when doing so.  To delete filtering rules mark the checkbox for each rule you want to delete then click the 'delete' button in the top right where applicable.  You may also make use of the 'select all' and 'deselect all' buttons for quicker selection when available.

Applications

Application filtering consists of two areas : user settings and user rules.  To change the settings of any user just click on the 'edit' button for that particular user.

  • User Settings
    • Enabled : This determines if application filtering is active or not for the user.  When disabled no rules will apply to the user.  Conversely, when enabled all rules for the particular user are applied and active.
    • Alert User : When enabled a popup will show to the user when one of their actions has been blocked, in this case, an application which they do not have access to according to user rules.
  • User Rules
    • Application : This is the application name which is to be filtered for this rule.
Chats

Filter what chat and message software can be used by your users.

  • Enabled
    This determines if chat filtering is active or not for the user.  When disabled all chat software is allowed regardless of their individual settings.
  • Alert User
    When enabled a popup will show to the user when one of their actions has been blocked, in this case, a chat software which they do not have access to according to user rules.
  • Software
    Each chat software we support is listed along with whether it is BLOCKED () or ALLOWED () for that user.  Remember, for these to be active you must have chat filtering enabled for the user in the first place.
Keywords / Phrases

Filter specific keywords or phrases from being typed by your users.

  • Enabled
    This determines if keyword / phrase filtering is active or not for the user.  This must be enabled for other settings to be active.
  • Alert User
    When enabled a popup will show to the user when one of their actions has been blocked, in this case, a keyword or phrase which they do not have access to according to user rules.
  • Keywords
    Listed here are the keywords / phrases which are being filtered for this particular user. Remember, the filtering must be enabled for these to be active.
Website (categories)

Category filtering allows you to select pre-defined categories which will be filtered for the user. We have an extensive database that is updated periodically including both site domains and specific words.

  • Enabled
    This determines if website category filtering is active or not for the user.  This must be enabled for any category filtering to take place.
  • Site Categories
    Filters entire website domains.  Each category we offer filtering for is listed along with whether it is BLOCKED () or ALLOWED () for that user.  As with other settings, category filtering must be enabled in the first place for these filters to be active.
  • Word Categories
    Filters if specific words are found in the content of the website's page.  The sensitivity of this filter can be changed which determines how many offending words must be found before a block is triggered.  As with other settings, category filtering must be enabled in the first place for these filters to be active.
Website (user-defined)

User-defined website filtering allows you to enter your own custom URLs to filter for a particular user.  This page consists of two areas : user settings and user rules.

  • User Settings
    • Enabled : This determines if user-defined website filtering is active or not for the user. When disabled no rules will apply to the user. Conversely, when enabled all rules for the particular user are applied and active.
    • Whitelist / Blacklist : This allows you to set the user's overall web access.  By default this is set to 'allow all except filters' which means all websites are allowed plus the filtering rules you set.  Conversely, 'block all except filters' will block all websites plus the filtering rules you set.
    • Close Browser : If enabled the browser will be closed when a website URL has been blocked.  If disabled, when a website URL is blocked it will redirect to the browsers homepage rather than closing the browser entirely.
    • Alert User : When enabled a popup will show to the user when one of their actions has been blocked, in this case, a website URL which they do not have access to according to user rules.
  • User Rules
    • URL : This is the URL of the website address you wish to apply filtering to for the user.  Be aware that anything which contains your entry will be filtered.  For example, if you entered 'test.com' then everything on that website would be included for the rules.  On the other hand, if you entered 'test.com/page.htm' then only that specific page would have the rules applied.